Research at OTH

OTH Regensburg is one of the most research-intensive universities of applied sciences in Bavaria and has held the title of ‘Technical University of Applied Sciences’ since 2013. OTH Regensburg is guided first and foremost by its five core themes: Energy and Mobility, Information and Communication, Life Sciences and Ethics, Production and Systems and Buildings and Infrastructure. Sensor Technology and Digitization crosslink these core themes as interdisciplinary subjects.

At the same time the university’s research work closely mirrors the economic structures of the Regensburg region. As a partner in joint research projects with business and industry, OTH Regensburg is able to generate fresh innovative impetus for the region – with new processes and technologies, by boosting skill levels and creating potential for entrepreneurship and business startups.

A number of institutions provide the resources for our research activities:

Here, the Institute of Applied Research and Partnership with Industry (IAFW) acts as an umbrella organization and is the principal point of contact for all research activities of OTH Regensburg.

OTH Regensburg both coordinates and participates in a great many national and international research projects

Our extensive network of contacts is reflected in our wide-ranging partnerships with business and industry, higher education institutions, non-university research establishments and the public sector at regional, national and international level.

Forschung an der OTH

Die OTH Regensburg ist eine der forschungsstärksten Hochschulen für angewandte Wissenschaften in Bayern und seit 2013 mit dem Titel Technische Hochschule ausge- zeichnet. Dabei orientiert sich die OTH Regensburg einerseits an ihren fünf Leit-themen: Energie und Mobilität, Information und Kommunikation, Lebenswissen- schaften und Ethik, Produktion und Systeme sowie Gebäude und Infrastruktur. Die Sensorik und Digitalisierung dienen zusätzlich als Querschnittsthemen.

Andererseits richten sich die Forschungsaktivitäten an den Wirtschaftsstrukturen der Region Regensburg aus. Insbesondere durch kooperative Forschungsprojekte mit Wirtschaft und Industrie generiert die OTH Regensburg auf mehreren Ebenen Innovationsimpulse für die Region – mit neuen Prozessen und Technologien, der Zunahme von Kompetenzen und dem Potential für Unternehmensgründungen.

Institutionell werden die Forschungsaktivitäten dabei abgebildet durch:

Das Institut für Angewandte Forschung und Wirtschaftskooperationen (IAFW) fungiert dabei als Dachorganisation und zentraler Ansprechpartner für alle Forschungs-aktivitäten der OTH Regensburg.

Eine Vielzahl von nationalen und internationalen Forschungsprojekten läuft unter Koordination und Beteiligung der OTH Regensburg.

Die umfangreiche Vernetzung der OTH Regensburg zeigt sich in zahlreichen Kooperationen mit Wirtschaft und Industrie, Hochschulen und außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen sowie der öffentlichen Hand auf regionaler, überregionaler und internationaler Ebene.